Tags

Text: 1 Corinthians 13:4-13

I feel like I’ve never read this chapter before. I feel like this is all news to me! All along I thought this chapter referred to love as in the love of or for humans. Boy, was I wrong. It is all about God’s love in us, God’s love for us; God’s kind of love. The kind of love that caused Him to sacrifice Jesus. But it started all the way in Genesis. It then causes or inspires us to live this way (as discussed in Chapter 13) and to see things from His perspective! I’m speechless at these definitions of faith, hope, & love though. I feel like I haven’t even scratched the surface of what it means to hope, to love others, or to hold on to faith. It amazes me how strong and enduring these 3 elements are:

  1. FAITH – conviction and belief respecting man’s relation to God and divine things
  2. HOPE – joyful and confident expectation of eternal salvation
  3. LOVE – true affection for God and man, growing out of God’s love for and in us

They’re like water, earth, and wind or earth, wind, & fire. I now see how essential they are to the Christian journey. I pray for grace for each of us to live by them and to walk in strength.

