Tags

, , , , ,

And in that day  I will set apart the land of  Goshen, in which My people dwell, that no swarms  of  flies  shall be there, in order that you may  know that I  am  the  Lord  in the midst of the  land.  I will make a difference between My people and your people. Tomorrow this  sign shall be. Exodus 8:22, 23

I majored in journalism. In my final year of undergrad, we had to complete a capstone that required us to go out into the Philadelphia neighborhoods and capture news features none of the major news networks covered. My group did our story on a small church in the Brewerytown area of Philadelphia. Our feature had something to do with the diminishing economy. We interviewed a young parishioner and she said something that has not left me since 2008. She said, ‘I do not worry myself with the news of the poor economy. I dwell in Goshen. I believe my own situation will be different from those around me.’ Obviously we were standing in Philadelphia, but her faith translated her elsewhere. Her faith shook me and I was challenged.

It’s easy to have our boat of life get rocked when we hear of all the unfortunate things happening to people in the same pool as us.  We can choose to be discouraged or we can believe that our case is & will be different because the Lord is in the midst of our situation.  A recent photo reminded me that ships don’t sink because of the water that’s around them, but because of the water that gets IN them. Don’t let what’s happening around you get inside you and weigh you down. Choose to dwell in Goshen and remind your situation of where you dwell. – Eruore Oboh

