Tags

, , , , ,

Text: Genesis 12:1-3;17:1-8

“Lord, you said that once I decided to follow you, you would walk with me all the way. But I noticed that during the most troublesome times in my life there is only one set of footsteps. I don’t understand why in times I needed you most you should leave me. And the Lord replied, My precious, precious child, I love you. And I would never, never leave you. During your times of trial and suffering, when you saw only one set of footprints, it was then that I was carrying you.”

The paragraph above sounds like many of us today and recently I found myself asking the same question, Lord why me? Is this your will for me? The Holy Spirit took me back to Genesis 12-Where God called Abraham and told him to leave his father’s house and kindred to a land where he will show him. Abraham obeyed God and left with his wife and nephew and the bible records that God made him a promise that he would make him the father of many nations. One would say but Abraham didn’t have a child at that time.
Chapter 17 of Genesis God renewed his covenant with Abraham at age 90. This is exactly fifteen years after the first covenant and ten years later the promised child came. I started asking myself how was Abraham able to cope for all these years seeing he had no child but he just believed him that had promised to be faithful. I recently read in Isaiah 49:16, where God said he has engraved his children in the palm of his hand and I said to myself: hmm if God has engraved me in his palm is it possible for God to forget me? CERTAINLY NO.

Just like the above poem says when at the lowest time of our lives we can only see one set of footprints in the sand but that was when the Lord carried us. What a wonderful and blessed assurance we have as believers knowing that no matter the difficulty of the matter or situation there is someone who will carry us through the difficulty and who is waiting for us to share whatever burden it is and would immediately take over. Won’t you turn everything over to him today and begin enjoying a great fellowship with our wonderful Father in Heaven.

Lord, I pray that you will make each one of us to understand the extent of your love for us and during the time of our trials you are ever present with us and you are ready and willing to take over any problem, situation or burden presented to you. Thank you Father for the blessed assurance we have in Christ Jesus, Amen. – Jane Awittor

